Jonesboro-Hodge High School

Skip to main content
Mobile Menu
Counseling » College and Career Exploration

College and Career Exploration

TRANSCRIPTS: If you need a transcript sent to a college, please email me and include your name, the document(s) that should be sent, the name of the person I should send them to, AND the receiving person's email address.
 
Transcript Request Example:
Hi Mrs. Bergholtz,
This is Johnny Tiger.  I am applying to Toy Story University and need my transcript sent.  Will you please send my transcript to Mackenzie College?  Her email address is college@college.edu.
Thank you,
Johnny Tiger
 
 
College Fair-September 15, 2020 at Louisiana Tech
More details to come.
Virtual College Information Event:

These sessions guide students through the process of making a college list, applying for admission and financial aid, and keeping the search process in perspective. They will also discuss the QuestBridge application and organization. Please feel free to extend an invitation for your students to register for one of the following Quest for College virtual information sessions.

Quest for College Student Sessions
Wednesday, July 8

8pm EDT/7pm CDT/ 6pm MDT/5pm PDT
Event Registration

Thursday, August 13
8pm EDT/7pm CDT/ 6pm MDT/5pm PDT
Event Registration

Saturday, September 12
4pm EDT/3pm CDT/ 2pm MDT/1pm PDT
Event Registration

Learn more and register at questforcollege.org
Registration is required; friends and family are welcome to attend the student sessions.

 

While you will not be able visit colleges in person to get a sense of their diverse cultures, there are other ways that you can learn more about the schools to which you may ultimately decide to apply. Colleges are putting extensive virtual tours on their websites so that students can get an in-depth look at what each school has to offer. Find a virtual information session with an admission officer for the colleges where you’re especially interested. Use online search tools to start shaping your college list. In addition to going directly to each college’s website, there are some amazing resources out there with student reviews. Check out https://www.youvisit.com/; www.induck.co; www.unigo.com and www.colleges.niche.com.

The colleges and topics being presented are as follows (times in CST):

  • Wednesday, 6/3
    • 5pm – University of Michigan: Thinking Ahead Now - College & Your Future
    • 6pm – Harvard University: Student Perspectives on Exploring Your College Match
    • 7pm – Stanford University: 7 Things I Wish I Knew Before College
  • Thursday, 6/4
    • 5pm – University of Chicago: How Are Applications Reviewed in the Test-Optional Era?
    • 6pm – Princeton University: Highlighting Your Story in The College Application
    • 7pm – The Gates Scholarship: Let's Talk About Finding Scholarships
  • Tuesday, 4/28
    • 5pm – Colgate University: Affording College - A Crash Course
    • 6pm – Smith College: The Women’s College Advantage
    • 7pm – UC Berkeley: Find Your Fit - From One College to the Next
  • Wednesday, 4/29
    • 5pm – Emory University: COVID-19 and Your College Application
    • 6pm – Washington University in St. Louis: Just Do It! How to Start Writing Your Perfect College Essay
    • 7pm – Tufts University: Universidad 101: En Español

 Register Here: https://www.crowdcast.io/e/online-college-block/register

 

Downloadable guide to help students understand match, fit, and cost when researching colleges and identifying to which colleges they want to apply.

 

My Next Move

Answer questions about the type of work you might enjoy. We'll suggest careers that match your interests and training.

 

  • Job seekers and college applicants are increasingly being required to participate in some form of online interview. The 2019 NCDA article, Preparing Students for Career Success: Exposing Students to Online Interviewing, provides strategies for supporting students who are preparing for virtual interviews. Students should familiarize themselves with online conferencing software and practice interview techniques as part of their postsecondary planning.
  •  
  • Unlock my Future helps students find potential dream careers based on their own interests. It guides students to schools that are best for them and assists with finding resources to help pay for college.
  •  

College Navigator - National Center for Education Statistics is a tool to find colleges and career schools that may fit the needs of students.

 

Interactive Career Pathway Data

Using data from the Condition of Career Pathway Readiness in the United States 2019, ACT has developed an interactive tool to help high school students and adults understand their career options based on their skills and determine the types of jobs available to them.  Students can use this to navigate career opportunities, including future job openings and salary information, alongside the benchmarks for each of the top occupation openings.

 

Take a Virtual College Tour: youvisit.com

 

Louisiana Delta Community College Virtual Info Session

 

Learn more about college through these videos created by the National Association for College Admissions Counselors about various colleges (YouTube playlist College Spotlights):

 
Additional Career Exploration Resources
  • SkillsUSA is a national membership association serving high school, college and middle school students who are preparing for careers in trade, technical and skilled service occupations, including health occupations, and for further education. 
  • 2020 Internships in Louisiana offers a list of current internships available in our state. 
  • Apprenticeship Louisiana supports students searching for an opportunity by location, salary, and job. 
  • Louisiana Star Jobs offers the opportunity to explore top-rated careers in Louisiana. 
  • Louisiana Community and Technical Colleges bridge programs are designed to improve the preparation and ease the transition into college. 
  • College Access in Louisiana includes an overview of the federal, state, and outreach programs available to eligible students. This resource also outlines postsecondary education access and college and career planning resources. 
  • Propel America is a nonprofit that helps young adults successfully transition from high school into a career and higher education. If a student completes the Propel I "Core Course", in which they identify a career pathway of interest, they will receive support preparing for that career. If they successfully complete the course, they can become Propel Fellows upon graduation. Fellows receive tuition for a training program and a stipend. 
  • Work Readiness Standards and Benchmarks mentions the important factors needed to establish readiness for transition from postsecondary programs to employment. 
21st Century Job Center’s Practitioner’s Guide provides web-based tools that present low-cost training, career exploration, and job search opportunities.